Minutes of the meeting of the Electoral Area A (Baynes Sound – Denman/Hornby Islands) Advisory Planning Commission of the Comox Valley Regional District held on Monday, June 25, 2018 in the Bill Wood Room of the Union Bay Hall, located at 5401 South Island Hwy, Union Bay, BC, commencing at 7:00 pm

PRESENT: Chair Rodney Jones

Members Margaret McKenzie

Karen Fouracre Bill Trussler Bruce Livesey

ABSENT: Members Pieter Rutgers

David Stapley
Janet Thomas

ALSO PRESENT: Electoral Area Director Bruce Jolliffe

Alternate Director Jim Argue
Acting General Manager of Planning Alana Mullaly

Agenda Items

Call to Order and Recognition of Traditional Territories

The Chair called the meeting to order and acknowledged that the meeting was being held on the unceded traditional territory of the K'ómoks First Nation.

Minutes of Advisory Planning Commission Meeting

MCKENZIE/FOURACRE: THAT the minutes of the Electoral Area A (Baynes Sound – Denman/Hornby Islands) Advisory Planning Commission meeting held on Monday, May 28, 2018 be received with the removal of Bruce Livesey's name who has resigned from the Area A APC.

CARRIED

3360-20/RZ 1CV 18 – Zoning Bylaw Amendment Application – To Prohibit Non-Medical Cannabis Retail and Production (CVRD)

FOURACRE/MCKENZIE: THAT the Area A Advisory Planning Commission support Zoning Bylaw Amendment Application RZ 1CV 18 to prohibit non-medical cannabis retail and production (CVRD), as proposed.

CARRIED

3350-20/CP 1CV 18 – Official Community Plan Amendment Application – *Local Government Act* Section 514

TRUSSLER/MCKENZIE: THAT the Area A Advisory Planning Commission support Official Community Plan Amendment Application CP 1CV 18 to remove Section 44.(6) of the OCP that requires parcels proposed for subdivision, in accordance with Section 514 (subdivision to provide residence for a relative) of the *Local Government Act* (RSBC, 2015, c. 1), be two times the size of the minimum parcel size required in the zoning, as proposed.

Status update on APC recommendations

Alana Mullaly, provided an update regarding Electoral Area Services Committee and board decisions related to APC recommendations.

Next Meeting Date

The next Electoral Area A (Baynes Sound – Denman/Hornby Islands) Advisory Planning Commission meeting is scheduled for Monday, July 30, 2018 in the Bill Wood Room of the Union Bay Hall, located at 5401 South Island Hwy, Union Bay, BC, commencing at 7:00 pm.

Termination

The meeting terminated at 7:50 pm.

Recording Secretary:		Chair:	
Karen Fouracre		Rodney Jones	
Received by the Electoral Areas Services Com	mittee o	on the day of, 20	_•