Board Structure

The number of board votes for each municipality or electoral area is determined by population, letters patent and the Local Government Act. For every 1,500 persons or portion thereof, that area is allowed one vote.

When an area has more than one director, the allowable number of votes must be divided amongst its directors as evenly as possible. The results of these calculations can be seen on the following chart.

Voting strength for regional districts - populations certified by the Minister of Community and Rural Development, effective November 1, 2017. 

Comox Valley Regional District
Population 66,527 (2016 Census)
Municipality Population No. of Directors Voting Strength
Town of Comox 14,028 2 10
City of Courtenay 25,599 4 18
 Village of Cumberland 3,753 1 3
 Electoral Area
Baynes Sound - Denman/Hornby Islands, Electoral Area 'A' 7,213 1 5
 Lazo North, Electoral Area 'B' 7,317 1 5
 Puntledge/Black Creek, Electoral Area 'C' 8,617 1 6

For the purposes of the Black Creek / Oyster Bay water and fire services, board membership expands to include the Electoral Area 'D' (Oyster Bay / Buttle Lake) director. For the purposes of the regional solid waste service, board membership expands to include all Strathcona Regional District directors. Voting strengths in these instances are consistent with the strengths as determined by the Minister of Community and Rural Development as noted above.