The Comox Valley Regional District (CVRD) was created in February 2008 and encompasses the City of Courtenay, the Town of Comox and the Village of Cumberland, along with the electoral areas of Baynes Sound (A), Lazo North (B) and Puntledge-Black Creek (C).   CVRD population statistics census 2011.

As part of this creation, the provincial government mandated the CVRD to prepare a regional growth strategy (RGS) in order to guide growth in the Comox Valley. After over two years of research and public consultation, the RGS was adopted by the CVRD board in March 2011. The RGS contains policies to direct growth while preserving the region's quality of life. Since adoption, all subsequent CVRD bylaws, works and services must be consistent with the RGS. The RGS can be viewed at .

What is the relationship among the RGS, OCP and zoning bylaw?

Each is adopted by bylaw. They have a hierarchical relationship (see figure below). The RGS gives long range regional planning direction for the CVRD and its three member municipalities: City of Courtenay, Town of Comox and the Village of Cumberland. The CVRD's OCP provides a policy framework of broad planning goals, objectives and land use designations in the electoral areas. The zoning bylaw regulates specific uses of land and buildings in the electoral areas.

Planning services provide land use planning services to the residents of the three electoral areas. The principal functions of the planning department are:

  • to prepare land use plans and policies for consideration by the CVRD Board to promote the allocation of resources in support of planned and orderly development;
  • to serve the community by responding to a wide range of inquiries and applications related to the use and development of land;
  • to administer land use bylaws, standards and policies;
  • to provide the opportunity for meaningful public consultation; and
  • to act as a resource to the CVRD Board on planning and development matters

Please note that Denman/Hornby Islands receives planning services from the Islands Trust.