About the CVRD

Welcome to the Comox Valley Regional District

The Comox Valley Regional District (CVRD) is a federation of three electoral areas and three municipalities providing sustainable services for residents and visitors to the area. The members of the regional district work collaboratively on services for the benefit of the diverse urban and rural areas of the Comox Valley.

The geography of the CVRD includes rural agricultural, vibrant urban, meandering coastline and dramatic mountains.

The CVRD covers an area of 2,425 square kilometres, of which 1,725 square kilometres is land (the remainder is water), and serves a population of 63,538 according to the 2011 Census.

Our borders extend from Cook Creek in the south to the Oyster River in the north, west to Strathcona Park, and east to take in Denman and Hornby Islands.

The CVRD was established in February 2008, following the restructure of the Comox Strathcona Regional District into two: Comox Valley Regional District and the Strathcona Regional District. The boundaries of the Comox-Strathcona Regional Hospital District (CSRHD) are the same as those two combined regional districts and have the same board of directors as the CVRD and SRD combined.